It Takes a Village . . .

11265114_10204250799247023_2087251582728663855_nFor as long as I can remember, community has been a reoccurring theme in my life. Since arriving in South Africa in August, that theme has only been strengthened. When thinking about the importance of community and supporting each other, I am reminded of John 15:4. Jesus tells us to “remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remind on the vine.”

While Jesus was telling us to remain in his and God’s will, I also wonder if we can take this with us in regards to community. So often we are told not to forget where we came from, but possibly there is truth to that.

I have noticed that people do not forget their roots in South Africa. Even once they move away, some people that I have met try to stay entrenched in their communities (past and present) in any way that they can.

I want this for my people and for myself, for what better way to remain in Jesus, than to remain committed to those who have always been committed to you? Be that in spirit or any other way. We must be the branches that bear fruit.

Leave a Reply

